It’s no big secret that the United States lags behind most other countries when it comes to paid family leave. But with the recent addition of Connecticut’s paid leave bill, there are now seven states giving workers the option to take time off after having a baby—and much more!

After passing the state senate and house last week, Connecticut governor, Ned Lamont, has plans to sign the bill into law, “ASAP.” So what does this new law mean for parents who live in the Northeastern state?

photo: Wayne Evans via Pexels

Under the new act Connecticut workers will get up to 12 weeks of paid family leave. And this doesn’t just include leave for parents with new babies. It also includes paid time off for workers who need to care for grandparents, older children and siblings. The law, which goes into effect in 2022, will provide 95 percent of low-wage employees’ pay (capped at $900 per week).

Non-low-wage earners may receive weekly paid leave up to 60 times the state minimum wage, according to the National Law Review. The law also allows employees to collect a paid intermittent leave entitlement—if they don’t need to take 12 weeks in a row off.

Previous family leave laws in Connecticut required employees to work at a company for a minimum of 12 months and at least 1,000 hours before getting the then-unpaid benefit. The new family leave act removes this requirement, setting a three-month employment minimum. Employees must also have already earned $2,325 in this period to qualify.

—Erica Loop


This State Will Now Give 12 Weeks of Paid Family Leave to Parents

For Dads without Paternity Leave, Dove Wants to Help—with $5,000 Grants

This State Is Rolling Out 16 Weeks of Paid Family Leave: What Parents Should Know

Your daily dose of joy and connection
Get the Tinybeans app