This just in: Barbie now comes in FOUR body types!


For nearly 60 years, Barbie has had almost two hundred careers, but only one body type. Today, the company announced a major update to their brand: the addition of three more realistic body types. Parents everywhere, rejoice!

Videos From Tinybeans

The new 2016 Barbie® Fashionistas® doll line includes four body types (the original and three new bodies), seven skin tones, 22 eye colors, 24 hairstyles and countless on-trend fashions and accessories. Adding more diversity into the line continues the journey that Barbie started in 2015 when the brand added 23 dolls with new skin tones, hair colors and, most notably, a flat foot.

Mattel has been criticized for the Barbie’s unrealistic body proportions — impossibly tall, thin and busty. This change brings the brand in line with modern expectations. We’re thrilled.

What do you think? Will you buy the “new” Barbie for your kids?


Trending Now

Welcome to our Tinybeans family!
Be sure to check your email for new activities, recipes and parenting hacks – and to see if you’ve won!








Enter to Win a $250 Gift Card!

Enter your email and zip code below for a chance to win a Mastercard Gift Card. We’ll pick one winner per month through December 31, 2022 – 9 lucky winners in all!

I agree to the official rules and to receive email communications from Tinybeans. By providing my email address, I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.