This Is the Easy Antidote to Summer Slide 

Advertisement
Read next

Advertisement

Have you ever noticed kids everywhere lose their ability to concentrate during the last couple of weeks of school? Those end-of-school wiggles are inevitable, but the dreaded summer slide that follows doesn’t have to be. There’s a secret antidote to combat summer slide, and it’s easier than you think: graphic novels.

Ask any librarian what one of the best-kept secrets to improving literacy is, and they’ll tell you it’s graphics novels. And if you automatically think graphic novels are for teens and tweens, don’t worry. HarperCollins publishes a variety of graphic novels geared specifically toward early readers ages four to 10. These books feature simple text, easy-to-follow comic paneling, and art that complements the text for a better understanding of the story. Even reluctant readers find themselves unable to put down their favorite graphic novel. 

Kids will find familiar characters like Pete the Cat and My Little Pony and be introduced to new favorites, like Friendbots, Sir Ladybug, and Beak & Ally. Before you know it they’ll be begging for the next book in the series. 

 

Fish and Wave

Readers ages 4 to 8 will love Fish and Wave, a new graphic novel by Sergio Ruzzier featuring a tiny fish and a big wave that keeps getting bigger. Fish isn't sure what to do, but it turns out, it's all about going with the flow. 

 

The Cryptid Club #1: Bigfoot Takes the Field

They'll love the first graphic novel in the new four-book Cryptid Club series from writer Michael Brumm and illustrator Jeff Mack. The Cryptid Club #1: Bigfoot Takes the Field, recommended for readers six to 10, is perfect for fans of The Bad Guys. An unlikely group of kid sleuths has to solve the mystery of why monsters have been sighted around their school. 

 

Crab and Snail: The Invisible Whale

For a perfect kids-only beach, read meet Crab and Snail: The Invisible Whale by New York Times bestselling author Beth Ferry and beloved illustrator Jared Chapman. Two BFFs (best beach friends) have to figure out what to do when their big beach day when their plans for fun in the sun get rained on. 

Pete the Cat: Making New Friends

Secret Agent Meow, a.k.a. Pete the Cat, takes on a whole new case in this installment of the Pete the Cat series. Perfect for level one readers, this mysterious read from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator duo James and Kimberly Dean as Pete goes on a top-secret mission to make new pals. Your kiddos will love this book, as it introduces them to the world of graphic novel storytelling and visual literacy.

Kids will find tales of friendship, creative problem solving, and plenty of laughs in these early reader graphic novels from Harper Collins, sure to help children have a strong and positive association with reading. All summer long, and all year long. 

—Amber Guetebier

Welcome to our Tinybeans family!
Be sure to check your email for new activities, recipes and parenting hacks – and to see if you’ve won!

 

 

 

 

 

 

GET READY FOR SUMMER!

Enter to Win a $250 Gift Card!

Enter your email and zip code below for a chance to win a Mastercard Gift Card. We’ll pick one winner per month through August 31, 2022 – 5 lucky winners in all!

I agree to the official rules and to receive email communications from Tinybeans. By providing my email address, I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.